Euro Coins

I have been amazed at the patience that has been bestowed upon me by the many Parisians that I deal with on a daily basis when I barely speak the language.  Time and time again, I am greeting with helpful nods by simply telling them that “I am sorry, I speak a little French” and ask “Do you speak English?”  One of the only times that I have to be right on with my French and money is in the boulangerie when people are eager to get their warm and delicious baguettes and be on their way home.

This is where I had my first issues with all the Euro coins.  Really, it’s too much.  There are the 8 different ones to deal with (granted the 2€ stands out but the rest get very jumbled together).  Also, when I have people lined up behind me and I am desperately trying to use the change in my wallet (which is getting heavy) and I have to dump out all the change to find the right amount, it’s super stressful.  So, I have combatted it by figuring out that most baguettes (depending on what you get) are between .85c and 1.20€ and there is usually a little sign under the baguette with the price (but sometimes I don’t have time to look at it, order and get my change out of my wallet).  Therefore, if I walk up armed with a 1€ and .50c coin I’m pretty much golden.

.1c, .2c, .5c, .10c, .20c, .50c, 1€, 2€  (missing 5c in picture)

 

This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Paris and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Euro Coins

  1. Guillaume Leduc says:

    Haha! I’m always in trouble in the U.S. when I have to deal with all these dollar banknotes that all look the same to me! It’s always a pleasure to read your ongoing discovering of life in Paris, and a joy to hear from Maxime that you like it so far.

    Cheers from the rainy northern Germany,

    Guillaume

  2. Carly says:

    Haha! It is the same in the UK, we have 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, £1 and £2 coins here. I hate it when I go to the US also and it’s all mainly notes for everything x

  3. Sarah Gibbons says:

    Trust me you will get very cast at counting Euros… its like riding a bike. It will just happen overnight! 😉

Leave a Reply

