Washing, Drying and Ironing

For those who don’t know, I hate ironing.  I rarely buy button down shirts for myself  so I don’t have to iron them.  But in France, ironing is a perfected science as most people do not have dryers.  We could only fit either a washer or a washer/dryer combo machine.  As appealing as a combo sounds, I was suspect that one machine could do two things well and after talking to a few Frenchies, my suspicions were validated.  We went with an LG machine that spins super fast to wring out as much of the water as possible.

Upon our first load, we were shocked at the cycle time with the standard white (albeit large load) at 2:30 hours.  Even with a smaller load, we’re looking at a good 1:30 hours.  But I will say that the clothes come out with a light damp feeling.

 

 

 

 

Fitted and Flat Sheet

So, the next step is the drying.  This is another area where the French (and I can assume most European countries) have this down.  We opted with a traditional drying rack. One load takes a good 1/2 day to dry.  The sheets are a bit more tricky as you have to remember to turn and fluff the sheets (especially the duvet cover and fitted) to ensure all the corners are getting dry.

Then comes the fun part:  IRONING.  If I was going to have to iron everything (yes, including the fitted sheet), I wanted a professional set up. After consulting a few people, I decided upon the “compact” version of the Calor Central Vapeur.    This appliance has made all the difference.   In a nut shell, I was told by one our hosts the first week here not to mess around with a regular iron.  There was no point and to just break down and buy this machine. I cannot thank her enough. The steam is so powerful that even with a very wrinkled pillowcase, with one swipe of the iron, it’s smooth like silk.  I still dread the pile of laundry at times but with this set up, it makes it a bit easier and with each load, I get a little bit faster (yet I still hate ironing button down shirts!)

 

 

 

Super Iron

Before and After Pillowcase

 

This entry was posted in Culture, Paris and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Washing, Drying and Ironing

  1. Luke says:

    Thanks cuz. That really entertained me.

  2. Heather M says:

    I really need to come sleep on some ironed sheets there! 😉

  3. Sarah Gibbons says:

    we STILL hang dry everything and our drying rack is literally a center piece of our dining room…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

