Getting out of the house is key

A colleague at Amazon asked before I left “What will the ‘Alexis in Paris’ be like versus the ‘Alexis in Seattle?'”  I responded “I hope I dress a little bit better” but in all seriousness, this is an amazing opportunity for me to take a minute, pause and really think about what I want to do with my days.  Though I don’t have the answer yet, one thing is for sure that just getting out of the house is key to stay motivated.  I was warned about becoming isolated due to being in a new city and not speaking the language.  Yes, there are days that can be a bit lonely but I have been quite busy exploring by foot, bus, bike and metro. Also, when I go to meet someone, I always go to them and leave myself plenty of time to explore the new arrondissement.  But on most days, I’m left to define my own activities and in doing that, sometimes it’s just getting my shoes on, walking out the door and seeing what comes my way.

Here are some images that have been part of my days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting out of the house is key

  1. Heather M says:

    Okay from now on whenever I find something about a place in Paris that I want to go, I’m going to send it to you! Starting with this:

    http://poemsweetpoem.blogspot.com/2012/07/le-telescope.html

    xoxo
    H

Leave a Reply

