Salon du Chocolat

I love chocolate.  I grew up on See’s Candies and still as an adult could not resist to buy a few pieces of chocolate when I walked by the See’s in downtown Seattle on my way to the bus.  A few Saturdays ago I went to the Salon du Chocolat in Paris.   I knew it would be busy, but to my astonishment it was packed beyond belief.  I couldn’t even breathe.  If I hadn’t just paid 13€ I would have turned right around and walked home but I thought I could at least try to get some free chocolate or macaroons out of it.

IMG_0168

I was wrong to assume there would be free chocolate all over the place and to think I’d even be able to reach it if there were avaiable.   People were 3 to 4 deep and by the time I got up to the sample tray, the bites were “euro-sized”.  Itty, bitty, little pieces that basically would dissolve on your tongue before you could even think to chew it.  Some places kept the sample trays right behind the counter so you had to engage with them to seem like a serious buyer before they would give you sample.  I was at a disadvantage out of the gate due to my language barrier and I started to feel like a greedy, overindulgent American.  I did finally get to taste a few pieces and IMG_0165bought a bar of Argentinian dark chocolat and it was delicious.  The chocolate is beautiful and it is a work of art.  I am tempted on a weekly basis from the boulangerie and patisserie to the little chocolate shops.  I can usually go a few weeks but the other day I broke down and went to a local chocolate shop and got a small bag. The sales person asked (in English) if I wanted the bag sealed.  I quickly responded “no” and put the bag in in my purse in perfect reach of my hand for right when I walked out the door.  My geography may have changed, but many of my behaviors have not.  Now the chocolate is just a bit better.

IMG_0164IMG_0160

This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Language, Paris and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salon du Chocolat

  1. Sarah says:

    This is probably one of my favorite posts of yours! You had me at chocolate….. 🙂 Miss you my friend!

  2. momjohnson says:

    You paid 13euros to sample chocolate at Salons du Chocolat?

Leave a Reply

