The Alps

One of the benefits of living in France, is the opportunity to discover the diverse landscapes, food, culture and monuments that cover the 643km2 of this country. It’s manageable to hop on a train or drive for a day and experience the high jagged mountains of the Alps or the rolling hills of the Luberon in Provence.

I love France. Full stop. My first trip was in 2006. I stayed in Paris for a week, then took the train to Avignon, rented a car and drove around Provence. A typical starter French itinerary. I thought those were the best parts of France. Fast forward 14 years, and I can tick quite a few more places off my list that are dear to my heart.

The first is Brittany. In 2019, I spent a week by myself in a small house on the edge of a large cliff in the tiny town, Plogoff, located in the Finistère department in the Northwest region, right near the Pont du Raz. I don’t think I could have gotten much further west in France. The strong winds, crashing waves and rich plant life was a welcomed pace. My head was clear, my lungs full of the salty air and I was surrounded by quiet. I thought to myself: I could settle here: wrapping myself in cozy blanket, sipping tea, taking pictures and staring at the unrelenting crashing waves. This is ideal for a reclusive artist, which is a characteristic I relate to, but not so much for a family.

My husband has been an Alps fan since I met him. We have gone there now five times. And I always said in the past “It’s not my favorite place but I go because he loves it so much.” But the fifth time was the charm. I truly fell in love with it.

2017 lunch at Refuge de Miage

The activities were the same as the last time: hiked to the refuge in Miage, swam in the beautiful Lac de Passy looking up at the Mont Blanc and had aperitif in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains. But the difference this time was that as a family, we hiked and explored the mountains with my daughter’s full attention. She loved it.  At six years old, she couldn’t wait to discover the forests, run down the rolling grassy hills, walk on the ledge of the mountain while tethered to my husband or take the Tram Mont Blanc to the glacier of Bionnassay at the foot of the Mont Blanc.  

2020 Hike to Refuge de Miage

During this trip, I also walked in the small village where we stayed, La Champel, with my Mamiya C330 and recently refurbished Nikon FM 35mm. I settled into the expansiveness of the mountains and the delicacy of the wildflowers covering the ground. The air is crisp, even in the summer, and the hum of the bugs soothing. I saw little spider caves built between the wildflowers, no wider than 3-6 inches. There were dozens strung along the length of the trails.

There is so much to do in the Alps. Hiking, running, swimming, skiing, eating fresh berry tarts and delicious fondue and yes, even some reclusive time enjoying the soft light of the setting sun behind the mountain with its pink hue illuminating the rocky cliffs. I now officially, love the Alps.

This entry was posted in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Alps

  1. davidsabban says:

    Thanks for the updates – love seeing what you’re doing and so wish we could get over there!! Best, David

  2. Rigdon Currie says:

    Nice, Alexis.

    We have “tunnel” spiders here that should similar to yours. sometimesyoucan get them to come out by touching the web on the outside of the tunnel.

    Rig

    >

  3. Connie says:

    Virtual travel has a whole new meaning now – thanks for the trip (I need to work on a virtual swim in your lake). A la prochaine, Connie

Leave a comment